Shrimp Cucumber Salad

I just got back from an amazing post-work run, and I have come to a solid conclusion. I will never ever be a contender to win a race, but sometimes it just feels fantastic to run! I must admit that I listened to a total of two songs for the duration of my 3.1 mile run, and I am totally okay with that. These two songs particularly pump me up and keep me going: Titanium (David Guetta), and All Over You (Live). I realize that these two songs are not all that similar, but dang, they make me run my version of fast.

So since the 21 day sugar detox, I have been so significantly better about craving sugar. I think I want something every now and again, but I don’t crave the giant bowl of sugar laden ice cream on an hourly basis like before. However, two days ago I got the most hardcore craving for M n’ M’s I think I have ever had in my life. Even pre-Paleo, I didn’t eat M n’ M’s so it was a tad bit bizarre. However, there I was sitting in my office and I would have probably tackled someone for a bag of those little sweet morsels. It is important to note that by “bag” I am actually referring to the 5 pound bag of them as opposed to the snack or even personal sized. Thankfully my craving passed and I just moved on as if it never happened.

The reason I bring up cravings is because that is precisely how this little recipe formulated in my brain. I was having a major hankering for some Old Bay shrimp. I love me some seafood, and my friend was selling shrimp as a fundraiser for a track team that he coaches. It was awesome…they even had a shrimp hotline. So I bought a pound of shrimp and made this little picturesque concoction for a party ๐Ÿ™‚

Shrimp Cucumber Salad

shrimp

Cucumber Salad Portion:

Ingredients:

1 Cucumber
1 Lemon
1 T coarse sea salt
1 t Old Bay

(please note that the above picture was a triple amount of this recipe)

Directions

1. Use your amazing spiralizer that you got for your birthday from your awesome mother to spiral slice the cucumber. If you don’t have one…no worries at all! Just slice up a cucumber. It will taste the same, I promise!

2. Toss in a bowl along with the juice from one lemon, the salt, and the Old Bay.

Shrimp Portion:

Ingredients:

1/2 Lb Shrimp
Old Bay

Directions:

1. Steam shrimp with your desired amount of Old Bay. I typically do an extremely light dusting prior to steaming.

2. Peel shrimp. (Or display them pretty on top of your noodles, take a picture, and then peel them….whatever!)

3. Put them on top of your cucumber noodle salad and do another dusting of Old Bay if desired. It was definitely desired at this house!

So on a side note, Shep did not make it to this party with me. He was home and very sick. So being the thoughtful fiance that I am, I left him an adorable single-serving portion…because I am cheesy like that!

Shrimp heart

2 thoughts on “Shrimp Cucumber Salad

  1. Doing a sugar detox, you definitely start to see the effects with your cravings! I always craved chocolate after dinner, but just a week in, that went away. I had a piece of dark chocolate for the first time in months last week, and yes it tasted good, but not like before. I don’t even really care for it anymore (not that there is anything wrong w a piece of choc. here and there!).

    • I couldn’t agree more…I definitely had a sugar problem and had been conditioned to end meals with some type of sugar. Thankfully I have so much more control over it now, and I crave completely different things ๐Ÿ™‚ So glad I did the detox, and I know that I will be doing it again in the future!

Leave a Reply

